Central Middle School

Inspire, Empower, Achieve...Every Student, Every Day

Skip to main content
Clubs/Activities » Clubs & Activities

Clubs & Activities

4SADD
4SADD is a combination of Friends of Rachel and Students Against Destructive Decision. We are open to all students and are a club that seeks to encourage students to be kind and inclusive, as well as developing good decision-making skills. 4SADD focuses on increasing students' awareness of the world around them through community service and social opportunities. We meet on Friday afternoons from 3:05-3:45 and Monday mornings at 7:30. Students can attend both meetings or the one that fits their schedule.

Advisors: Pat Coci (pcoci@d124.org), Julia Kelly (jkelly@d124.org)

 


Band
Please visit the Central Middle School Band Website for more information.

Advisor: Mark Dreyer (mdreyer@d124.org)

 


Book Club
Do you like to read? Do you love talking about your favorite book with your friends? Then Book Club may be for you! Book Club will meet monthly to discuss a book that the group has chosen. All meetings are at 7:30 a.m. Discussions will be led by the members and everyone is encouraged to participate. Meeting Dates & Book Choices 

Advisor: Julia Kelly (jkelly@d124.org)



Choir

The Central Singing Panther Choir is comprised of 6th through 8th graders of all ability levels.  All CMS students are welcome to join the choir during the first couple weeks of school. The Singing Panthers perform in concerts, competitions and local events around Evergreen Park! Visit the Choir Website for more information.
Advisor: Lisa Banos-Cruz (lbanos@d124.org)


Creative Arts
Creative Arts Club is for students to express themselves creatively through art, music, and writing. It's a great way to meet and collaborate with people who have a similar interest in the arts. In previous years students have written songs, created comics and drawings, made poetry books and started musical groups.
Advisor: Mark Wlodarski (mwlodarski@d124.org)


Declamation (SWIC)
Declamation is open to any sixth, seventh, or eighth-grader who loves to express themselves through public speaking and performing. Events are held in the following categories: Humorous Duet, Oratorical Declamation, Dramatic Interpretation, Humorous Interpretation, Prose and Verse Reading.
Advisor: Colleen Kempton (ckempton@d124.org)


Fitness Club
Fitness Club is a place for students to be active during the winter months. The intention is to create a health club vibe for the students. Fitness Club meets once a week. Students can sign up for either Monday or Wednesday. The club runs from the middle of October until the middle of  March.
Advisor: Heidi Murphy (hmurphy@d124.org), Kathryn Adolfo (kadolfo@d124.org)


Giving Garden/Harvest Club
The Village of Evergreen Park and District 124 have partnered together to provide a hands-on learning opportunity for our middle school students. The Giving Garden is located at 94th and Turner Avenue. Students plan, cultivate and maintain the small city lot with a variety of produce during the spring. In the fall, all produce is then harvested and donated to The Village Food Pantry.   
Please visit the Giving Garden/Harvest Club webpage to learn more about these clubs.
Advisor: Pat Coci (pcoci@d124.org), Sarah Murphy (smurphy@d124.org)


Mathletes (SWIC)
Mathletes is a competitive math team open to 6th, 7th and 8th grade students. We compete against the other schools in our SWIC Conference. Practice is held once a week in order to get ready for the competition held in March.
Advisor: Camille Dickey (cdickey@d124.org)


Newberry Bowl
The Newbery Bowl is a quiz-style competition. Students read 7-8 Newbery Award-winning books. They then participate in three rounds of competition, where they are asked questions about these books. The first two rounds are done at CMS, the third round is against other schools in our area. This is open to any 7th grade student who wishes to participate. 
Advisor: Angala Iverson (aiverson@d124.org)


Newspaper
The Central Panther Press is open to all reporters, writers, advice-givers, puzzle makers, photographers, poets, editors, and anyone else interested in being part of the Central Newspaper staff. We meet every Tuesday after school from 3:05-4 p.m. and put out a bi-quarterly publication. Central Panther Press Website 
Advisor: Julia Kelly (jkelly@d124.org)

 


National Junior Honor Society

National Junior Honor Society is an organization that is committed to serving Central Middle School and the Evergreen Park Community. Members are responsible for performing five service hours every quarter at school or in the Evergreen Park Community. For information about applying to be a member of National Junior Honor Society, please Read Our Bylaws.
Advisor: Peter Sullivan (psullivan@d124.org)


Yoga
The Yoga Club was created to offer students a chance to learn and practice yoga together. It is a chance to slow down and learn the basic yoga poses, which help reduce stress and increase flexibility and strength.  The students will connect to themselves and the world around them through mindful practices. They will practice mindful breathing and relaxation to manage their emotional state and focus on the task at hand.
Advisor: Pat Coci (pcoci@d124.org)